top of page
Search

Totally Trained Totally Unprepared

I’ve had one eye on Ring o’Fire for as long as I can remember. Ring o’Fire is 3-day race 135 miles, 13,000ft around the Island of Anglesey split into 3 distances.


Day 1 – 35.7 miles

Day 2 – 65.9 miles

Day 3 – 33.4 miles


Dubbed as one of the toughest races in the UK I thought the only thing I would really have nailed was the running, but the rest of it would be all new to me in a race environment – camping, being self-sufficient, navigation, knowing no-one!


Day 1 was a 1pm start with a 9-hour cut off. This would see us race from Holyhead to Amlwch where we would finish at the Leisure Centre and camp for the night. The logistics had become really difficult for race organisers with Covid, normally we would be able to bed down in the village hall but this time we were in a camping field 10 minutes’ walk from the race finish. This sounds like nothing but actually after 8hrs of hard graft it took some brain power to get myself organised especially as I had put all my wash kit with my tent in the field and the shower and facilities were at the finish.

Looking out at the Ferries crossing to Ireland from the start

The start at Breakwater Country Park was so chilled. We all registered and sat on a bank facing out to sea watching the ferries back and forth to Ireland.


By now I felt pretty much OK about the race. I had a funny week leading up to it, full of anxiety, restless nights and having to pretty much force myself to eat. The 4hr £19.50 bargain train journey the day before had helped me and the comfortable B&B. I’d managed around 4hrs of broken sleep which for me, the day before a race wasn’t too bad! I was there in plenty of time, I was ready.


The start went by in a blur, I got chatting straight away to Andy (https://twitter.com/AndyO1976) and Chris (https://twitter.com/chrismarritt) with whom I had exchanged a few tweets that morning, so it was immediately comforting to put a face to the twitter name.


It was a slow start, the Firelighter (one day) and Ring O’Fire was a mass start so with gates and narrow footpaths it took more than a few minutes to get going. But off we all went into Holyhead and out the other side onto the coastal path.


The first thing that hit me was how immediately hot and sweaty I was. What had seemed like a cool perfect running day with a light breeze soon felt like it was going to be a real wet sweaty one. But I had enough electrolytes and salts, the first CP was only just under 7 miles, and I was prepared …. or so I thought!


The first 16 miles of day 1 went by like a dream. The course was fairly easy trails, up and down, rocky in places underfoot, some beach, some open fields. I had been chit chatting passing the time and beach and just before the check point and hooked up with Suzy. She was great, immediately we both knew we were on the same wavelength, same determination, same swear words and sense of humour.


Suzy was astonishing. She had been out and ran the course in full over a few visits. She literally knew every footstep, stone, hill, cow, step on that course. She had even been to cow therapy, so she didn’t have to go off course to avoid the weird cows (seriously!).

We pretty much ran the rest of the day together with various others joining us along the way. The course picked up its punches a LOT through that second half, bigger hills, more technical downs, more rocks and pebbles to test our feet and an absolute mammoth uphill to the first honesty book.


Not knowing if we would get back before headtorches these went on fairly early to avoid any wrong turns or tripping over we ran into Amlwch just after 8pm with an hour to spare finishing 6th and 7th lady.


That was the easy bit.


Now, legs feeling worryingly beasted and with a half-fried brain I had to shower, eat, drink, set up camp and sort out my shit before 4:30am the next morning, with my bags in two locations (and both being in the wrong locations!) ….. as well as sleep.


Sleep? Well, what is that? I knew I was not the only person who did not get a wink of sleep in that campsite that night apart from one snorer who had a blissful night. As the 4:30am alarm got closer I downgraded from at least hours sleep to if I could just get 10 minutes to well, at least I lay still with my eyes closed!


Day 2


As the runners congregated back in the leisure centre it became apparent that I was not the only one that hadn’t slept a wink, which was both ouchy and comforting. I tried to force down breakfast and I saw Andy and Chris again who both looked a bit beaten by the course the day before. The general chit chat from us first timers was it was much harder than we had expected, me included.


I should say here that a great deal of regulars on this course don’t finish every year. A runner who has been there before will tell you how many times they have started and how many times they have finished in the same sentence which is generally a 50/50 success rate.


But I was positive about day 2, it may be longer but surely the course with a nice long road section would be a bit kinder on lungs and legs.


I picked up my tracker and spotted Suzy in the crowd again and we set off together.


My legs felt great! I’d had a sports massage the night before with Ben from Repose and as I was his last in the queue I got some extra time, either that or I talked his ear off (actual true story!)


I tried not to think too much about the distance ahead, and instead focused on how long we had to CP5, the first of the day. It was really stop start again with all the starters bunching up over gates and styes, but I was pretty relaxed and thought that the steady start would help me later on in the day. Again, it was so hot and I thought I might burst. I didn’t think I had taken on enough fluid or food the day before, so I was conscious of taking on more fluid this morning.


I took tumble on beach, Suzy pulled me straight up and off we went again. By now my legs were already feeling sore again which was worryingly early into day 2. I was SO hot and I could feel my head slipping.


Half a mile later my tummy flipped, and I knew within minutes that if I didn’t find a bush my day would be a lot more unpleasant than it was already turning into. I didn’t want to stop, but I knew it would serve me better! I shouted to Suzy to carry on and I would catch her up as I dealt with tummy admin!


Running into CP5 I felt like a different person, Suzy hadn’t long been there and was waiting those few minutes for me, so we set off together again. Half a banana and a snickers we headed out again to CP6. The course was getting to me again.

Happier times on Day 2 with Suzy, Chris, Andy and Ben

I had expected it to ease a bit, but this was as up and down as day 1, rocky, stoney and seemed much steeper on ascents and descents and so many more steps. I was getting frustrated that I couldn’t run as much as I would have liked, but on we went, sweating and cursing our way along the coastal path with me gradually facing the reality that this was not going to be a 14–15-hour day but more like 17-18. On no sleep. Help.



We ran into CP6 and unlike me Suzy had managed to remain civilised and use an actual toilet at the pub, after having coke in a pink plastic wine glass which amused me no end, and listening to the marshal who told us the next bit was almost flat (which we knew this was lies) we headed off again. Over the beach and into the woods.


I should say here that the scenery the entire route was absolutely stunning, but this part of the coastline was something else. However, in my increasingly grumpy state it was head down and push on.


At some point along this stretch I lost Suzy. Well, I say lost, she was gone. Her head was still intact, I had been quiet trying not to bring her down to my level.


So it was here the battle really got interesting. Thoughts of DNF, the fact I just seemed to be hating it, my feet hurt, my body hurt I was frustrated the running was getting less and less, I was absolutely BIG time pissed off. I got my phone out and in desperation I called James. I wanted him to tell me it was OK to stop, that I didn’t have to do it anymore (which is what he said before I left).


Instead he told me that I was one of the strongest people he knew, and that all I had to do was get to the next checkpoint and see how I felt. With thoughts whirring through my head at the rate of knots I decided to take his advice and end my race at the next CP7, Penmon.


I caught up with Lu, a lovely guy also struggling with the heat and the difficulty underfoot. I persuaded him we could get to half-way which was further than I thought I would go. The noise in my head was quietening down. Penmon was getting closer, the LONG never-ending hill was done.


Then Massage Man appeared (Ben) running in opposite direction. He’d based himself at Penmon and had fancied a run of his own so had run out onto the course. I wasn’t too jolly when he spotted me, but he turned around with me - the 30 mins we ran together back to Penmon together cheered me right up and I managed to talk his other ear off!

Penmon

Penmon arrived and as I came in, I heard Suzy cheerfully shout her goodbyes so wasn’t too far behind and if I was quick I could even catch her up. I forced down some pork pie, had a little pep talk off the lovely marshal and headed on up the steep hill towards the beach. The last thing the guy said as I headed on off up the hill was “you’re only on the shingle beach for a very short time” ….. OK I nodded and marched on up the hill. The sun was out now, and it was properly HOT. But I felt good, I felt better, and I was heading to the halfway point even though I knew I had only 30 mins to spare on the cut off to the next CP. I was trying not to fall into the trap of chasing cut offs.


Signs for the coastal path and the GPX on my watch were in sync. I knew there was a long road section coming up, around 18 miles. Buoyed by this, even with the pain I was in I knew I could make up some time so for the first time in around 3 hours I actually felt happier with my life choices.


I rounded the corner and headed down to the beach. Made sure I picked up the signpost and I was on the shingle. Yuk, but this was only for a short time.


Except it wasn’t. It went on and on and on. The shingle turned to pebbles, the pebbles to small rocks. I looked behind me and saw no one. At this point there were quite a few behind me so I knew straight away something was wrong. I shouldn’t still be walking along this beach ripping my feet to bits. I pulled out my phone and although GPX had me going in the right direction the course was indeed on the parallel road. I couldn’t even see the road because of the houses built between the beach and main road, there was no way off. My heart sank, I knew I did not have time for this and there was still what looked like miles of pebbles in front of me.


Head down, I knew the only way off was to just march it out. I was so cross and annoyed with myself for missing a turn. I started to feel defeated.


I knew by now it was a very real possibility I would be last finisher this day. That was never the plan.


I also knew I could DNF.


I tried to visualise me lay on my bed that evening, utterly exhausted but done. Yes, yes that’s what I would do. Last place or not I would finish this.


I spotted a car through a gap in the wall and that was my way off bastard beach. All I had to do now was get to the CP8 without getting timed out. Out onto the road, my legs and feet were screaming at me with the after effects of a million pebbles but I spotted another hill ahead so knew I needed to run now before slowing up again. I headed up and then ran down the hill towards Beaumaris.


Head and brain not quite engaged I was struck by the view over the water to Wales, the sailing boats up the Menai Straight, the pier and thinking how lovely this place was I then spotted the hotel I was staying in for 2 nights when this was all over. Yes, yes that will do. I headed through town dodging pedestrians and holiday makers eating ice-cream who probably through I looked slightly mad and vacant by then, up the road to the checkpoint.

Beaumaris Pier

I saw them waving as I approached, and I burst into tears. That wasn’t the 5 miles I should have had. I said immediately I wanted to quit. I sat in a chair and sobbed. The guy was SO kind to me. He sat on the floor next to me and asked me if I was OK and if I was sure. I asked how close I was sailing to the cut off. 7 minutes was the answer. That was way too close I thought. What even is this? I had wasted so much time. He asked me if I wanted anything and I started to ask for things out my bag to get me to beyond the zoo (CP10). Hang on, I thought, I’m not actually quitting. My automatic reaction is to fight on. So, decision made that while I was still allowed in the race I was going to carry on.


I headed up the hill, worried but determined. Now I was definitely last. That was OK, I had made peace with that. All I had to do now was just do checkpoint to checkpoint and carry on for as long as I was allowed. The next 7 miles were not easy. It was still the same up and down, up and down, up and down. Hot, hot, hot. I thought about when I had last spoken to James. That was almost 18 miles ago. I had wanted to quit there but here I still was, soul searching in this new territory I found myself in; chasing cut offs.


Menai Bridge arrived and I had to get all through the town, past both bridges to the Church to CP9. Again, I just about made it here by the skin of my teeth. Literally 2 minutes. The time was beating me, BUT I was still in it so a quick stop and out again.

Stunning Menai Bridge

By now it was a case of staying in the race to the next CP10 without getting timed out. I say race, I wasn’t really racing anymore I thought. Coming last was going to be a big win. I needed just under 14 minutes miles to make it on time.


The path carried on, another mile, another mile. I tried to run as much as possible, my feet were in absolute agony. Every hill was a march to the top to try and save as much time as possible. But the hills kept on coming. I had to get to CP10 by 7pm.




A right turn onto a field of dried-up cow shit and ruts. Agh!! I don’t need this; I can’t risk an injury. I still thought I would be back out there tomorrow! A march over the field, reminding myself everyone is doing the same course, and everyone else had already done this bit - but I knew I needed to run more if I was going to make it.


A climb over a broken style put me in a field that felt wrong. GPX and signpost concurred that this was the way. Five minutes later I realised this was very wrong. FFS. That’s any buffer gone, back over broken style and onto another path which set me off course but then the GPX but then fixed itself. I had a sulky sit down. That was it I was done. Nope, you’re not done - get up woman.


Back onto road and I dared to look at the time. I had 25 minutes to do 2 miles if the distance on my watch was right. On a normal day absolutely no problem, today though? But I’ll try.


Hill after hill, but still going. The time approached 7pm. And that was it, I was done. It felt like a chime in my head. For the first time ever, I had timed out. For the first time ever, I was a DNF. 48 miles on day 2 and I was beaten by Ring O’Fire. I had another little cry. Seriously how many times could I cry in a day! But really, I was proud of myself. I was pleased, and very proud that I didn’t just quit despite wanting to so many times. I had stayed where I should be for as long as I could.


I texted Bing and told him I was out but was heading to CP10 anyway. Just as I rounded the corner, I saw a guy waving to me, confused I thought he was the checkpoint. Turns out he was a guy who had DNF’d earlier in the day and was actually staying with his brother in the house I was running past. He was heading to the day 2 finish to pick up his bags and had spotted me on the tracker so waited to offer me a lift back. After such a low this filled my heart with joy. What a guy - just when I needed it most he was there 😊


I texted Bing again about change of plan - and just as we picked up to 32mph had a call from Amy at CP10 who was confused I had been so close but was now heading in wrong direction, at speed. She was also so excited as she had never had to call anyone before!


My arrival back at base was met with smiles and a hug from Ben. I had to remove my number and hand back the tracker. My race was over.


On the plus side I got my bags and managed to get in the one solo shower before the runners started pouring in. Now I wasn’t a competitor anymore I didn’t want to get it the way. The girls offered me food which was amazing. Hayley, the first lady came in buzzing. Smiley man arrived. Pineapple hat man was safely home. Pink cap man walked in. Welsh Man. All the people I had seen out on the course over the last couple of days were arriving back. I checked the tracker for Andy, Chris, Suzy and Ben. Sadly Chris and I had already formed #teamDNF but YAS, the others were still in it.

#teamdnf

My weekend had not gone to plan by any stretch. I honestly thought I was capable and would do much much better.


I found out later that evening how much the cut offs had been reduced (day 2 by 4 hours). This automatically made an already difficult race more than 10 times harder. I was absolutely in awe of everyone who finished day 2 and everyone who was on the start line on day 3. Utterly incredible.



I spent Day 3 not running but making myself useful and helping out as much as I could. Cheering runners was my favourite part. They were all smashing it, they were all going to make it.

Suzy was just phenomenal. I have to tell you all that this was her first official ultra. That girl has no idea how good she is at this. She ran the whole 3 days without complaint, with no moaning, cheerfully and with a smile on her face. She absolutely rocks and I know next time I am there I will be channelling my inner Suzy. Thankyou Suzy for making my weekend so awesome.

Suzy with her very well earned medal

And I may not have come back with a medal, but I came back with so much more. I know now that even trained; I was not fully prepared for what I had to do. With punchy cut off’s there is no room for anything apart from head down, push and go. Any negativity is wasted energy. There is simply no time for it.


Next time. Next time I will complete it. I will get up Holyhead Mountain, I will take the final corner of North Stack, I will see the finish and I will hear beating water drums and Johnny Cash blasting out as I cross over the line.


I will be able to say I have been here twice and finished once. 50/50.


Ring O’Fire 2021 – 10th Anniversary

92 starters

40 finishers

43% finisher rate


Thanks to Bing, Q, Ollie, Amy, Tracey and all the RoF Team - what special people you are :)

Thanks for Ben from Repose for helping my legs work when they needed it :)




585 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page